Tone Wood in Cairns

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

liam
Gidgee

Tone Wood in Cairns

Post by liam » Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:38 pm

Hi all,
I am completely new to instrument building but have decided to attempt to build a guitar. I was wondering if there were any opinions on woods available in the Cairns area for a solid body electric guitar neck, fingerboard and body.

Thanks in advance to everyone as I am sure I will be back to bug you with questions in the future.

Kind Regards
Liam

Allen
Blackwood

Post by Allen » Wed Nov 26, 2008 6:58 am

First off, welcome to the forum Liam.

I don't build electrics, but there are heaps of woods available locally that I'm certain will build an admirable guitar.

Easy to source Qld. Maple for necks, and even bodies if you like. Qld. Walnut for the same, though its a right paint to work, and brutal on tools. Raintree is readily available and is becoming a most sought after wood for acoustics, so I'd assume the same properties that make it good for acoustics would work for electrics.

Cooktown iron wood makes great fret boards. There are just so many different local woods that you could use, that it's difficult to list them all.

Your probably best off to get an idea of the look, style and size of instrument that you want to build, then try and find wood to suite.
Allen R. McFarlen
https://www.brguitars.com
Facebook
Cairns, Australia

liam
Gidgee

Post by liam » Wed Nov 26, 2008 1:11 pm

Thanks for that Allen. The plan was neck-through so I will call around a few places in cairns and the tablelands to see if they have any of the woods you mentioned in suitable lengths.

Thanks
Liam

Allen
Blackwood

Post by Allen » Wed Nov 26, 2008 5:48 pm

Don't just limit yourself to those ones. There are too many to choose from, and if you wait just a bit, there are sure to be some others with a lot more experience building electrics as to what is suitable.