Silicon Blanket

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Kim Strode
Blackwood

Silicon Blanket

Post by Kim Strode » Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:36 pm

I'm new to guitar making and I've heard reference to using a silicon blanket when bending the sides. Can anybody tell me where to buy these silicon blankets and what are the advantages

TimS
ANZLF Approved Supplier

Post by TimS » Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:24 pm

Try http://www.michaelsenterprises.com/. Other sources are LMII. I am sure there are several forum members who would also have a link.

regards

Tim
[url]http://www.australiantonewoods.com[/url]

matthew
Blackwood

Post by matthew » Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:47 pm

Watlo have an office in melbourne. They sell ALL sorts of silicone blankets and custom make if you want.

Bob Connor
Admin

Post by Bob Connor » Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:06 pm

G'day Showtell and welcome to the forum.

Sounds like you have or are going to build a Fox bender or similar.

Originally the Fox bender was heated by 150 watt light globes but controlling the heat was a problem and they took a long time to warm up.

The blanket will get to around 300 degrees C in around 4 minutes so it is quick and you can bring the temperature down fairly quickly if things start smoking.

Some sort of temperature control is handy and a thermometer is virtually essential.

I got a motor speed controller kit from Dick Smith which I use as a temperature control.

I got the blanket from Luthiers Mercantile International in the States.

Cheers

Bob

matthew
Blackwood

Post by matthew » Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:46 pm

Some advantages are

- silent
- heats the whole rib, not just one bit at a time
- more pleasant to work with than a steamin hot pipe

Some disadvantages are

- tricky to make small adjustments (still need the hot pipe)
- more costly