Red box

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

sampson
Gidgee

Red box

Post by sampson » Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:55 pm

Hi All
I'm very new to all this and slightly daunted but seem to have caught the bug. I find this forum very helpful so thank you. I'm wondering what red box (as I found some highly figured stuff) would be like as a tone wood and how important is 1/4 sawn for the back and sides if the timber is old and stable?
Cheers Todd

Allen
Blackwood

Post by Allen » Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:01 am

Welcome to the forum Todd.

I moved this to the main forum, as it I believe it's much more likely to be found and get a response.

I've got no experience with Red Box, but some tonewoods will work better than others if cut off the 1/4. It has to do with the amount of seasonal fluctuations in the rate of expansion and contraction of your chosen wood. Being very old may be advantageous for some of the woods characteristics, but it's not going to totally negate these seasonal movements.
Allen R. McFarlen
https://www.brguitars.com
Facebook
Cairns, Australia

DarwinStrings
Blackwood

Post by DarwinStrings » Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:39 am

G'day Todd and welcome from me too. I had a bit of a google on 'red box' and can't find much info other than it is a excellent firewood but that does not rule it out. Eucalypti are not the most stable woods around but that doesn't rule them out either. 'Cupping' will be your major concern with those backsawn boards. You may also find them difficult to bend. For cupping you could maybe saw a piece out at 2.5 mm thick then subject it to some artificial changes in humidity to see how much it moves, then make a decision from there and for bending just give it a bash and see how you go.

Jim

Kim
Admin

Post by Kim » Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:04 pm

Don't know about the Redbox, but welcome to the ANZLF Todd. :D

Cheers

Kim

sampson
Gidgee

Post by sampson » Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:23 am