New to all this

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Ben
Kauri

New to all this

Post by Ben » Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:05 pm

Hey everyone,

Im Ben and im 26 from Brisbane. I am a carpenter by trade but since I was in school wanted to make guitars. I am just starting out and havent really made guitars before.
I was wondering if I could get some good advice.

Thanks

Ben

Cam
Myrtle

Post by Cam » Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:15 pm

Some good advice on what?

You can't really explain how to build a full guitar in one post, so you'll need to be more specific.

Welcome to the forum though! :D
Previously known as "guitarcam" :D

woodrat
Blackwood

Post by woodrat » Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:37 pm

Hi Ben, Welcome to the forum. The best advice for someone starting is to get some of the good reference books on the subject. I (and many others ) would recommend Guitarmaking Tradition and Technology by Wm Cumpiano and Jonathan Natleson as well as Jonathan Kinkaids "Make an Acoustic Guitar" Both are good books and point you in the right direction but you will move on from them when you have built your first couple of instruments but as a starting point they would have to be the best. The Cumpiano/Natleson book is 380 pages so there is some serious reading there. Try to read it and digest it paying particular attention to the bits about setting the neck angle as this is one of the most critical aspects to understand and execute.

Cheers

John
"It's never too late to be what you might have been " - George Eliot

liam_fnq
Blackwood

Post by liam_fnq » Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:37 pm

welcome aboard ben.

my advice is go for it, if a gumby like me can do it anyone can.

also, the brisbane city council librarys have a number of books on guitar building and they let you borrow them. for free!

being a chippie means you probably have most of the basic tools too.

J.F. Custom
Blackwood

Post by J.F. Custom » Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:42 pm