Australian Red Mahogany

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Tod Gilding
Blackwood

Australian Red Mahogany

Post by Tod Gilding » Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:30 pm

Hi All, I'm new on the forum,I am a budding luthier (actively practicing), I have just finished a Strat type build useing Australian Red Mahogany ( Eucalyptus resinifera) Found it to be a great timber, I am currently starting an acoustic build useing this timber as back and sides also neck, bridge and fretboard.The thing is, I have never heard of anyone useing this beautifull timber in luthiery, google searches turn up nothing, Am I the only one ? or has some one here used this Timber ?
Tod

Music is everyone's posession. It's only publishers who think that people own it.
John Lennon

Allen
Blackwood

Re: Australian Red Mahogany

Post by Allen » Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:00 am

Welcome to the forum. Can you add your name to your posts so we can get to know you. You may add it to your signature that you have access to via your User Control Panel.

I've not worked with this wood, so have no other comment about it's suitability.
Allen R. McFarlen
https://www.brguitars.com
Facebook
Cairns, Australia

woodrat
Blackwood

Post by woodrat » Sat Mar 12, 2011 8:51 pm

Tod, Very Generally I would say that most Eucalypts are not the best choice for back and sides of an acoustic. Some have made nice guitars from Tasmanian Oak aka Alpine Ash but me I wouldn't go past many of our great cabinet timbers like Blackwood, QLD Maple, WA Sheoak, QLD Walnut and many others. I feel red mahogany would be too heavy for a neck for example. Probably the fact that there are so many other more suitable choices is the reason that you cant find anyone using it in a lutherie application. Where I come from it is mainly considered a construction timber especially for use in the ground as it is considered durable.