Archtop Ukulele

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

rgarcia26
Kauri

Archtop Ukulele

Post by rgarcia26 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:53 am

Hi Guys this is the first time that I posting on this forum, I got to tell you that I got a huge admiration for the talent displaying here...

Ok lets get down to the point...
This is my first building project I am working on customizing an Grizzly Ukulele kit, and I'm making it an archtop Ukulele, I am doing this because I want to build a Archtop guitar and I want some practice before.
I got a question about the design that I made (See the PDF file)! Are the baces ok? and what do you think about the F-holes???
thank you your help is appreciate :mrgreen:

PS Here some progress that I made today

Attachments
Ukulele ver 2.pdf
PDF print out of the Ukulele top
(10.31 KiB) Downloaded 682 times
Ruben Garcia, Miami Florida US

graham mcdonald
Blackwood

Re: Archtop Ukulele

Post by graham mcdonald » Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:18 am

A couple of points to think about. There is not very much tension on four nylon uke strings, and so not much energy to drive the soundboard. I suspect you will need to carve the soundboard quite thin, and perhaps not need any braces at all. The other thing is that the bridges on archtop instruments are usually at the high point of the arch, somewhere around the middle, rather more forward than a normal uke bridge position. To get the bridge on your uke somewhere more towards the middle of the soundboard would then require a longer neck, with more frets before the body join.

In any case, welcome to the forum. You will doubtless get lots of useful advice

cheers

graham
Graham McDonald
http://www.mcdonaldstrings.com

Patrick Hanna
Wandoo

Post by Patrick Hanna » Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:29 pm