new and eager!

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

edlee
Wandoo

new and eager!

Post by edlee » Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:30 pm

Hello to all!

I'm new to the whole guitar building idea and I'm trying to learn all that I can about building. Hopefully with good direction and advice I will be able to build nice sounding instruments to come. If any body can give any advice to a newbie it would be greatly appreciated. I was also looking through the forums and came across the tonewood section, and there were some really beautiful sets of wood in there. What would be a good wood to start with that wouldn't cost a fortune, because I'm sure there will be a few mistakes. But any hoot I could go on and on. Any help would be appreciated. [/b]
Thanks To All:
edlee

Missouri
United States

Bob Connor
Admin

Post by Bob Connor » Sat Feb 09, 2008 3:06 pm

G'day Edlee and welcome to the forum.

You can't really go past Indian Rosewood for back and sides for a first guitar.

It's not too expensive and there's really no need to go for master grade.

It bends like butter, sounds great and looks good.

Bob

Lillian
Blackwood

Post by Lillian » Sat Feb 09, 2008 3:58 pm

Edlee, first welcome and watch out for the Americans. They are an ornery bunch.

I'll assume you want to build an acoustic. I would suggest that you start reading anything and everything you can find at your library and if the pickings are sparse there, track down a copy of Build Your Own Acoustic Guitar: Complete I... by Jonathan Kinkead, A Guitar Maker's Manual