Tasmanian Blackwood Build thread

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

demonx
Blackwood

Tasmanian Blackwood Build thread

Post by demonx » Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:08 pm

Hi, my name is Allan, I'm a hobby builder from Ballarat Victoria.

I build solid body electric guitars in my spare time! - just in case you missed my intro post, I thought I'd add a build thread for a guitar I have on the go at the moment. It's on another Aussie forum I visit occasionally so some of you may have seen it, for those that haven't, I'll get you up to speed:

First of all, some Mahogany for the back:

The Tasmanian Blackwood:
Here I am cutting enough off the edge of the plank so I can use it for the neck also!

Here you can see the back, top, neck and headstock in clamps:

Bit of work on the neck blank and scarf joint:

Also got the Blackwood clamped to the Mahogany:

demonx
Blackwood

Re: Tasmanian Blackwood Build thread

Post by demonx » Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:10 pm

Picked out my best Birdseye Maple board and ran it through the drum sander:

demonx
Blackwood

Post by demonx » Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:13 pm

Binding:

Whilst I was waiting for the end strip of binding to get tacky enough to cut, I ran the headstock tang through the bnandsaw and then smoothed it somewhat with a handplane:

Followed by a couple passes over the planer to make sure its "as one" with the neck:

By the time I've done this the end binding is tacky enough that I can cut the ends off very carefully (as the glues still wet) with the bandsaw and file the ends smooth with a small bastard file:

Tape ready:

demonx
Blackwood

Post by demonx » Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:15 pm

I marked the center line and body shape. Even though the timber top is 2 piece, it's really hard to see the join line, so it makes for much quicker lining up if I mark it in greylead