Classical fretboard taper and bridge/action problem

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Kim de Rijke
Beefwood

Classical fretboard taper and bridge/action problem

Post by Kim de Rijke » Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:29 pm

Hi there,

It seems the only contribution I make to this wonderful forum is asking advice as a result of stupid mistakes. I suppose it comes with the fact that I'm a relatively new amateur builder. Just to introduce myself properly - I'm in Brisbane, originally from Holland where I built my first classical guitar with my teacher (who also taught me how to play). Because I migrated to Australia halfway through the build and found it difficult to find work (and fund a trip back to Europe), the guitar took another 6 years to finish! :shock: I have since completed my first solo classical, some photos of which I posted here last year. I am now working on my second when I have some spare time in between my research job at the University, young kids, and everything else that demands attention.

The problem I now have is this: I just glued down the fretboard and then checked the height at the location of the saddle. I'm following the Cupiano and Natelson dimensions, and they suggest no less than 3/16 inch clearance at the saddle location. I have 3/32 and a bit. The reason is two-fold: my fretboard is on the thin side to start off with, and I made a gruesome mistake while attaching the soundboard to the neck. I thought it was safe to leave the soundboard proud of the neck and then sand it back when gluing on the fretboard. It was proud a bit too much (well, that turned out to be an understatement), but still decided to hit it with the sanding block. What was I thinking? Was I thinking at all, I can't quite remember :dru This means the fretboard sort of sunk into the soundboard, adding to the reduction in height at the saddle.