Skill sets.

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

simso
Blackwood

Skill sets.

Post by simso » Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:36 pm

I will throw up a question

I have had a few discussions of recent as to what is the best skill set to focus on when building guitars with some past customers that I taught Guitar building with.

Me first, for me, I am an average guitar builder, I build IMO nice guitars but I am far from an expert in the field, I average maybe 3-4 personal Guitar builds a year.

In my specialty field which is repairing, the most important skill set to me is finishing / colour matching, for an up and coming repairer, I would always say spend every spare moment improving finishing skills, practice practice and practice some more. I find you can be average as hell in doing the woodwork or in general anything associated with repairing an instrument, but having a good skill set in finishing is what it all come s down to.

As a builder, my opinion is different, the skill set I would focus on more is the fit and finish, spend more hrs using a chisel or plane, I would be of the opinion contract any finish work out to someone else until the fit and finish is spot on.

Two entirely different things to focus on IMO, subject to what you want to do in the field

Thoughts / opinions... what would be your recommendation as a point of focus for a person wanting to be a guitar builder.

Steve
Steve
Master of nothing,

Do your own repairs - http://www.mirwa.com.au/How_to_Series.html

lamanoditrento
Blackwood

Re: Skill sets.

Post by lamanoditrento » Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:30 am

I'm too green to add much, but I can say that I think finish is my weakest point and what I like least. I love building, loath finishing.
Trent

kiwigeo
Admin

Post by kiwigeo » Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:44 am

lamanoditrento wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:30 am