The Humidity issue!

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Petecane
Blackwood

The Humidity issue!

Post by Petecane » Sat May 11, 2019 11:53 am

I hope you do not mind but I need to address my concerns to this specific thread and would dearly appreciate some feedback.
I am getting a bit despondent and having negative thoughts about humidity problems.
I appreciate the criteria, read Trevor's approach and also what Allen and Peter reiterate about it.
I would absolutely love to continue building Soprano Ukes and have made investments towards them but am getting itchy feet at the thought of actually selling one in case the bridge pings off or they develop cracks.
I work in a garage and have no hope of a dehumidifier as the doors are always open. My son uses the garage as well and the doors must be open.

My question are...
Does this Humidity problem apply to hardwood soprano ukulele tops and backs?
I cannot work to 40 as the hygrometers never get down that low.
Pete

Steve.Toscano
Blackwood

Re: The Humidity issue!

Post by Steve.Toscano » Sat May 11, 2019 9:11 pm

Petecane wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 11:53 am
My question are...
Does this Humidity problem apply to hardwood soprano ukulele tops and backs?
Short answer: Yes!
Petecane wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 11:53 am
I cannot work to 40 as the hygrometers never get down that low.
An options for you might be to run a dehumidifier in a small room (or cupboard) of your house, have all the parts and timbers stored here. Right before glue up take the parts you are going to glue out into your garage, assemble/glue etc then place them back into the 'dry room' while the glue drys.

Petecane
Blackwood

Post by Petecane » Sun May 12, 2019 5:09 pm

Steve.
Many thanks.
I am still reading The Gore and Gillet books and it will be foolhardy of me not to take notice of them in particular with regard to humidity issues with acoustic wooden instruments.