Help to build a 4-string electric bass

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

mooshalah
Myrtle

Help to build a 4-string electric bass

Post by mooshalah » Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:41 am

Hi fellow travellers!

I've been a strictly acoustic builder for many years, but I've just been asked to help a young acquaintance to build an electric bass, and I find myself lacking in both equipment and full knowledge to complete the task!

So, I'm looking for a little assistance in both of the above areas.

My young friend and I will be going to Mathew's Timber tomorrow, to buy a chunk of wood around 40mm x 520mm x 360mm (or something equivalent that will allow for the making of a book-matched pair of chunks), and a couple of pieces for a neck, but I fear that my "hobby" band-saw of many years will not be equal to the task of being able to cut pieces of hard wood as thick as 40mm to shape the profile of the body. Also, I don't have anything like a table-saw. I'm going to give everything a go, but will be crestfallen if I fail in my first few cuts of basic carpentry, and so I'm looking for a fall-back position!

I live in Emerald, Victoria (that's outside of Melbourne, for those unfamiliar with the south of the continent).

Thus my first question / request:
    Is there anyone nearby (say, on the eastern side of Melbourne), with a reasonably sized band-saw, whom I might be able to contact for assistance in accomplishing this task (and perhaps also sawing a few lengths of 40mm materials to make long pieces for a laminated, long neck-through neck)? I don't imagine that it would take more than 30 minutes to accomplish all the neccessary cutting.