New member introduction

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

mtodd
Wandoo

New member introduction

Post by mtodd » Sun Jul 11, 2021 8:51 am

Hello everyone,

Thank you for welcoming my into your forum. I'm based in Adelaide and have recently started building my first guitar, a Hermann Hauser classical guitar, at a local guitar building course. I'm enjoying it very much and am looking forward to being able to tinker a bit at home too in the near future. I am a clarinettist who has had an interest in repairing and making clarinets for many years, however, that is more of a metal machining and jewellery making exercise. I'm new to woodworking and and looking forward to developing my woodworking and Lutherie skills. I took up learning the classical guitar about 7 months ago and quickly became interested in having a go at making a guitar.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to being a part of this Luthier community.

Cheers,
Matt

simso
Blackwood

Re: New member introduction

Post by simso » Sun Jul 11, 2021 12:05 pm

Morning Matt,

Good to see you starting the path of lutherie.

Re your clarinet, if you need any info yell out, I have made a couple of clarinets over the years, it was a passion of mine to go into production of an australian made clarinet, but....... business growth went in the direction of repairs more than manufacturing

Steve

kiwigeo
Admin

Post by kiwigeo » Sun Jul 11, 2021 12:11 pm

Welcome to the forum Matt. Im up in the hills. Not much going on in the workshop at present but youre welcome to pay a visit some time. Drop me a PM
Martin

mtodd
Wandoo

Post by mtodd » Sun Jul 11, 2021 1:05 pm

simso wrote:
Sun Jul 11, 2021 12:05 pm
Morning Matt,

Good to see you starting the path of lutherie.