Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Bwalker15
Gidgee

Post by Bwalker15 » Tue Aug 31, 2021 3:48 pm

Hi everyone,
I just want to introduce myself, just joined the forum a week or so ago. I'm a retired Engineer who now has a guitar building hobby.
I built a guitar with the Australian Guitar Making School down in Hobart in 2015 and ever since I have been wanting to make another but up until now I've not had a suitable space to do it in. But recently I've finished building "the shed" and managed to fill it up with a few woodworking toys and I'm into my first guitar build. It is a mix between the plans/instructions in Jonathan Kinkead's book and my own Maton CW80 acoustic guitar. Progress has been slow since every step of the journey seems to require at least 1 new tool or jig but it's a very interesting and rewarding journey.
An issue that I've really found challenging is humidity. Today, for instance, in Dapto NSW where I'm located, temp is 26C & RH is about 40% (depending on which meter I believe but I think this is a fairly accurate reading). Under these conditions I am now seeing some lovely guitar sides which I have stored, starting to curl up across the short side. Can anyone advise on how best to cope with this or do I just have to live with it and work on the wood when weather conditions are ok.
Anyway, many thanks to all who share their expertise and hard won knowledge on this site, it is very much appreciated.
Cheers,
Colin

WJ Guitars
Blackwood

Re: New Member

Post by WJ Guitars » Tue Aug 31, 2021 4:24 pm

Welcome Colin to the forum.