Indian Rosewood Bridges coming off Cedar and Pine tops

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

NotTheMama

Indian Rosewood Bridges coming off Cedar and Pine tops

Post by NotTheMama » Sun Jul 10, 2022 3:53 pm

I'm a novice luthier of only two ukeleles. A cedar top and a bunya pine top. Both have indian rosewood bridges. The PVA glue on both bridges has failed after a short time. One of them twice. Inspection of the failed joint shows that there was no glue on the rosewood.

I am thinking about using two part epoxy next but I have never heard of that being used in this application and even traditional relatively weak glues should really be strong enough. I used an unknown brand of PVA, so dud glue is a possibility, but it this glue has not failed in other applications to date.

Do members have any suggestions before I commit to epoxy? Is epoxy even the right choice?

ozziebluesman
Blackwood

Re: Indian Rosewood Bridges coming off Cedar and Pine tops

Post by ozziebluesman » Sun Jul 10, 2022 4:07 pm

Welcome to our forum.

Indian Rosewood is a self oiling wood. In other words, if you sand the bottom of the bridge and leave it a few days the joint will most probably fail due to the oil the rosewood secrets. So what I do is sand the bottom of the bridge and then glue up straight away. I did just that method with a rosewood bridge last week and it gave me a great glue joint. I usually leave the glue joint at least a day to dry even 24 hours before removing the clamps.

The yellow glues are a better glue for guitar building. Titebond Original is what I use and many others here on the forum. Epoxy is a great glue but not for the bridge. If you ever want to remove the bridge, it will be a difficult job.

Good luck with your building

Cheers

Alan
"Play to express, not to impress"

Alan Hamley

http://www.hamleyfineguitars.com/

kiwigeo
Admin

Post by kiwigeo » Sun Jul 10, 2022 6:24 pm