Cross grain classical soundboard bracing

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

J Mack
Gidgee

Cross grain classical soundboard bracing

Post by J Mack » Thu Dec 07, 2023 2:35 pm

This is my first post on this forum. I have been playing guitar for 60 years and since I retired 6 years ago have been making guitars in order to better understand what makes them tick. Thus far I have built 5. It is a hobby and I like to experiment.

My 5th guitar got me thinking about the way we brace classical guitars. The redwood top I thicknessed according to Trevor Gore’s complicated spreadsheet formula (2.2mm). At this thickness it had good stiffness along the grain but it was unusually flexible across the grain. I opted to add some cross grain bracing to fairly standard 7 fan bracing. It sounds OK.

I am fortunate to own a Trevor Gore falcate braced classical. On thinking about the reasons for the way this guitar performs (it really does), it occurred to me that a lot of the falcate bracing runs across the grain. There is also a lot of cross grain bracing in lattice style guitars.

If we are aiming for a soundboard that is both strong enough, and has a desirable blend of weight and stiffness, then logically we will get a greater increment in stiffness by tackling the low cross grain stiffness. Keep the long grain bracing to the minimum required to counter the tension from the strings.

I have not heard a ladder braced classical guitar and wonder why we don’t see more guitars with some sort of a hybrid ladder bracing system. Conversely, I also wonder why some luthiers make guitars with a predominantly along the grain 9 or 11 fan pattern.

I think it was Robert Ruck who was quoted as saying that whenever he applied logic to his craft he was disappointed with the result. Am I being too logical here?

johnparchem
Blackwood

Re: Cross grain classical soundboard bracing

Post by johnparchem » Fri Dec 08, 2023 12:50 am