Aussie guy from VIC -new member intro

A place where you can let us see your finished instruments in all their glory.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

demonx
Blackwood

Aussie guy from VIC -new member intro

Post by demonx » Sun Jul 15, 2012 6:38 pm

Hi guys.

My name is Allan, I'm from Victoria Australia.

I stumbleed across this forum whjile searching for Aussie Tonewoods and it looks like you guys have a great little community going on.

I'm a hobby builder of Electric Guitars, started off building just for myself and then friends wanted me to build for them and then all of a sudden building guitars grew into something that is an obsession rather than just a passing interest!

I guess on a guitar building forums pics speak louder than words, so heres a few recent builds:

Vic Blackwood wrapped around Maple with Ebony stringers:

All mahogany - airbrushing (black camo) done myself:

Another All mahogany with abalone inlay:

Mahogany wings wrapped around a maple neckthru:

Maple neckthru with Qld Maple wings and Birdseye Maple board:

Another all Mahogany strat where I was experimenting with some airbrushing:

This is the first guitar I've outsourced the airbrushing. It was a present for someone and the pic had sentimental/emotional meaning, so I wanted it to look right - if I attempted it would like like a picasso or something!

Vic Ash body with Sassafrass headstock - Japanese Maple inlays:

jeffhigh
Blackwood

Re: Aussie guy from VIC -new member intro

Post by jeffhigh » Sun Jul 15, 2012 6:57 pm

G'day Allan and welcome, i've seen your work on the woodwork forum.
Love the airbrushing.

ozziebluesman
Blackwood

Post by ozziebluesman » Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:01 pm

Welcome to the forum Allan.

Absolutely first class workmanship there mate!

Cheers

Alan
"Play to express, not to impress"

Alan Hamley

http://www.hamleyfineguitars.com/

demonx
Blackwood

Post by demonx » Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:03 pm