Classical Guitar - Tasmanian Tiger Myrtle

A place where you can let us see your finished instruments in all their glory.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Gregory USA
Kauri

Classical Guitar - Tasmanian Tiger Myrtle

Post by Gregory USA » Sat Jun 21, 2008 12:10 am

Hello ladies and gentlemen! I'm new to the Ausssie luthier's forum and thought I would take a moment to say hello , introduce myself, and share my latest lutherie project with you. I'm Gregory Fulghum from Denver, Colorado USA. I'm a classical and flamenco player and luthier in my spare time. I've been a student of Robert O'Brien, http://www.obrienguitars.com for the past two years, and I have constructed some truly wonderful instruments under his tutelage. Robbie is an amazing instructor, a great friend, and "I'd like to thank the academy... yup, cheers, thanks alot!".

Though I am strictly, and passionately, a classical/flamenco builder, I strive to interpret this instrument with a contemporary twist, marrying modern artistic sensibilities with a classical voice. I'm not a purist, I'm an artist.

My most recent project I submit for this forum's constructive critique. This guitar is made from a stunning back and side set of Tasmanian Tiger Myrtle that I obtained from Stephen at http://www.colonialtonewoods.com In fact, when this wood set arrived, I was so pleased that I immediately arranged for another set and was lucky enough to obtain the sister set from the same flitch. Stephen has some of the most amazing wood in the world and all my beer money and all my gratitude go to him. Trust me, his wood offerings are unparallelled.