A bunch of tenor ukuleles

A place where you can let us see your finished instruments in all their glory.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

mooshalah
Myrtle

A bunch of tenor ukuleles

Post by mooshalah » Sun Jan 15, 2017 5:07 am

Hi forum members.

Some time around the middle of last year, I came onto the forum and asked a number of questions regarding the construction of tenor ukuleles. A number of you were very kind, and freely gave me all the information I needed. Because I'm just a hobbyist, and often get lazy, it took me until the end of last year to complete the five ukuleles I'd set as my target. (Mind you, I'm also building around 6 guitars, interspersed between the ukuleles!)

Further, I completed two ukuleles earlier in the year, but never posted any photographs!

It time to make reparations.

I'll start with the instrument I completed first.

This is a 5-string tenor ukulele. I made two identical instruments; one for a Russian relative who is a professional musician, and the other as a sentimental keepsake for myself, because they embodied a few quirky, personal elements;

The soundboard is 40,000 year old ancient kauri;
The back of the headstock has a thin slice of Pear, from a tree growing in the ancestral hamlet of Zarutsky, in Ukraine, where our mutual ancestors lived, about 180 years ago;
The Blackwood comes from a farm in Colac here in Victoria, where an elderly farmer - who also makes breathtakingly beautiful furniture - lives;
The nut and saddle are made of giraffe bone that I picked up in the Okavango delta in Botswana, a few years ago;
It has tap-plates on the upper bout, because my Russian relative says he plays the instrument like a charango, and bashes it quite a bit;
The braces are made of Adirondack Spruce from a plantation of trees owned by an American relative, yet a third descendant of the family who lived in Ukraine;
The neck is made or Queensland Rose Mahogany.

Yep; I tried to squeeze a lot of provenance into these instruments!