Carbon Fibre

You can ask questions here about Trevor and Gerard's exciting new book on Luthiery.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

jeffhigh
Blackwood

Carbon Fibre

Post by jeffhigh » Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:10 pm

Hi Trevor
I am new at using carbon fibre in any form other than CF/epoxy preformed.
In the book you call for using cloth and strands from "cloth woven from 198gm/1000m yarn"
I can't find cloth listed in these terms but I can find plain weave 198gm/m2 woven from 3 k tow
As far as I can work out 3k tow is about 200gm /100m
Is this the right one?

Trevor Gore
Blackwood

Re: Carbon Fibre

Post by Trevor Gore » Wed Aug 31, 2011 2:40 pm

Jeff, the actual product I use is called "198G TORAY" (Toray is a company that makes CF). I get it from Fiber glass international and their product code is F02338. The FGI product catalogue is available from here: http://www.fgi.com.au/?q=fgi-product-catalogue and download "High Performance Fabrics".

I researched the Toray carbon fibre website (which seems to no longer exist, http://www.toraycfa.com/) to specify the product in more general terms and came up with the designation in the book. At this stage, I can't check whether it was right or wrong, but I remember being pretty thorough about it at the time.

I hope that helps.

Cheers, Trevor.

ScottC.
Myrtle

Post by ScottC. » Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:30 am

Hey Trevor, I am not having any luck with these websites, any other ideas where to look for for carbon fiber cloth?
Thanks
My excuse is "I'm new"

Tod Gilding
Blackwood

Post by Tod Gilding » Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:28 am

Also Trevor would you please look at these and let me know if it is suitable .

Tow for braceing http://www.carbonfiber.com.au/category9_1.htm

Bridge plate http://www.carbonfiber.com.au/category4_1.htm

Thankyou and Cheers
Tod

Music is everyone's posession. It's only publishers who think that people own it.
John Lennon

Trevor Gore
Blackwood

Post by Trevor Gore » Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:43 am