peculiar 168 hz in tap response

You can ask questions here about Trevor and Gerard's exciting new book on Luthiery.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Jim watts
Blackwood

peculiar 168 hz in tap response

Post by Jim watts » Thu Oct 24, 2013 2:20 pm

Hello all,
A real quick introduction: For starters I'm familiar with many of you at the OLF and some of you may be familiar with me as well. But for the many who aren't I've been building for about 20 years and study as much as I can. I have a very low output of a few instruments each year. I enjoy this and have a day job also. I recently purchased Trevor's fine set of books and am trying to absorb all I can through them. There's a lot there! Anyway enough of that and onto the subject at hand.

Below are three spectrograms of three different guitars. The first two are hybrid dual fan bracing a la Byers and the last one is a 9 fan Fleta using Coutnals plan. My question revolves around this peak at 168-ish Hz. It's there on all three and I'm not sure what it could be. At first I thought it was my tapping hammer (eraser on a stick), so I changed to a finger, still there; a pencil, still there; a different room, still there. It really surprises me it on all three guitars.
I used a Zoom H4 as the microphone. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
I'm happy to answer any questions.
mb tap response 1200X553.jpg
Dual Fan
hr tap response 1200X554.jpg
Dual Fan
fleta tap response 1200X554.jpg
Fleta

charangohabsburg
Blackwood

Re: peculiar 168 hz in tap response

Post by charangohabsburg » Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:19 pm

Hi Jim, welcome here at the ANZLF.

I think a Chladni pattern test would reveal the "secret" straight forward, respectively it would give the necessary hint for going to know the solution. This is the only reason I invested some time and money in a Chladni testing setup. I hate to use it because it is so noisy, but it really helps. Much better than my abilities in reading coffee grounds. ;)
Markus