Trevor's course

You can ask questions here about Trevor and Gerard's exciting new book on Luthiery.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

martintaylor
Blackwood

Trevor's course

Post by martintaylor » Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:15 pm

Just had the privilege to attend a 3 day course with Trevor Gore to explain modal tuning etc. Wow, what a great mind expanding time. For those of you that know me, my background is a graphic designer. So, how well does a person that studied a course that had no exams or essays (it was 30 years ago!) cope with engineering, maths and physics equations that looked (and sounded) like they were in a completely foreign language? Well, truthfully, not that well haha. But, Trevor was patient, clear and forgiving (I hope) of some of the questions and by the end of the 3 days we all came away with a much clearer understanding of the work he and Gerard have done in bringing this contemporary approach to guitar building to all of us.

Will I go back to uni to study maths or engineering? No. Will I apply the knowledge and process that Trevor explained? Absolutely.

Now, I just have a few more jigs to make and some snazzy equipment to buy...
Gore-course-14.jpg

kiwigeo
Admin

Re: Trevor's course

Post by kiwigeo » Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:35 pm

martintaylor wrote:
Now, I just have a few more jigs to make and some snazzy equipment to buy...
Gore-course-14.jpg
Eeeeeeexcellent...another recruit to the Gore Army!! :mrgreen:
Martin

Craig Bumgarner
Blackwood

Post by Craig Bumgarner » Tue Oct 21, 2014 10:50 pm

Just wondering, does Trevor ever come to the US and give such a course? I think he (you) have in the past, wonder if anything is on the horizon for the future.
Craig Bumgarner

Bumgarner Guitar Blog

Edzard
Beefwood

Post by Edzard » Wed Oct 22, 2014 12:57 am

Looks like you guys had a lot fun!

Looking at the (empty) bottles in the back, I think I found the reason why my guitars are not so good...yet.

Need to upgrade my shop soon..

Best regards,

Edzard