Ervin Smoygi Books

You can ask questions here about Trevor and Gerard's exciting new book on Luthiery.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Deems Davis
Sassafras

Ervin Smoygi Books

Post by Deems Davis » Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:50 pm

As a new builder I'm trying to digest as much fact based information as I can regarding guitar building. That's what I REALLY appreciate about Trevor and Gerard's book. I've found that in the world of guitar building there is a never ending stream of opinion that is freely offered, but the vast majority is described in abstract/qualitative terms rather than quantitative / measurable terms. Ervin Smoygi has a 2 volume book set regarding guitar design and building. He has developed a reputation for building high quality instruments, so he must be doing something different or unique. I'm interested in any feedback from anyone that has actually read them, and particularly:

1. Does his approach to guitar building align with Trevor's Gerard's?
2. If it's different how would you describe the primary differences?
3. Is the information provided in the books supported with measurable facts, or is it qualitative?

Thanks for any feedback opinion you might have. If this is not the right forum for asking the question please suggest where I should post this

Deems

kiwigeo
Admin

Re: Ervin Smoygi Books

Post by kiwigeo » Fri Feb 19, 2016 1:18 pm

I bought Ervin's books but since Trevor and Gerard released their books Ervin's books have sat on the shelf gathering dust. To be frank most of the theory that Ervin covers is much better covered by G and G. If I had to choose either books.....Gore and GIlet would win hands down.
Martin

aljosha
Kauri

Post by aljosha » Sat Feb 20, 2016 8:53 am

it depends on how you build

erwin's more "romanitc" vs the more "scientific" approach of G+G

he builds using his ears rather than microphones+computers+whatnot
so one could say a bit abstract
I personally build his way

best
j

Deems Davis
Sassafras