When will Gore/Gilet books be back in stock?

You can ask questions here about Trevor and Gerard's exciting new book on Luthiery.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

wadkin
Wandoo

When will Gore/Gilet books be back in stock?

Post by wadkin » Tue May 24, 2016 3:19 am

They had these books in my university library. A student took out the design book and never brought it back, I don't blame em. I was thirsty for knowledge so I got the librarian to order the books in again, I ended up basing most of my dissertation on them. Now I'm kicking myself for not buying the books before, as I can't seem to get my hands on em for want nor money.

Trevor Gore
Blackwood

Re: When will Gore/Gilet books be back in stock?

Post by Trevor Gore » Tue May 24, 2016 9:12 pm

Organising the reprint of the books turned into a nightmare job for something which should have been just a "press the button" operation. I won't bore you with the (many) details, but I have been working hard on this since Oct 2014!

Best guess at the moment is August 2016 before the new 2nd edition is available. Revisions include fixing the typos and other discrepancies that are discussed in this forum and improving the colour balance of the photos and making them slightly larger. Some explanations have been revised to reduce any possible ambiguity and there's a small amount of new material on fixing wolf tones and more detail on the source of intonation errors. In the Build volume there's a new (and very neat) design for a two-way truss rod. Otherwise the content is ~ 99% the same as before.

Tommy Emmanuel stepped aboard with an endorsement and the legendary Charles Fox (teacher of guitar building teachers) contributed the Foreword to the 2nd Edition which you can read here.