3 piece pernambuco back

You can ask questions here about Trevor and Gerard's exciting new book on Luthiery.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

johnparchem
Blackwood

3 piece pernambuco back

Post by johnparchem » Fri Oct 12, 2018 3:53 am

I am making a new classical guitar with pernambuco sent to me by my client. I have never used it before. I need to make a three piece back as you can see in the picture.
pernambuco.jpg
pernambuco.jpg (279.16 KiB) Viewed 18800 times
I tap tested the wood as I was getting very clean tap tones. I have not tried it on this narrow of a piece. I could not really determine the LC frequency so I populated it with a nominal value. The wood is dense at 978 kg/m^3, yet rather stiff, Elong is 23.5 Gpa. The spread sheet gives me a thickness target at about 2 mm. I think this is all correct, the long and cross tones were really clear. Has anyone else used pernambuco for a back?
back thickness.JPG
back thickness.JPG (56.4 KiB) Viewed 18800 times
Here is the entry in wood database, I see my results are close.
wood database.JPG

simonm
Blackwood

Re: 3 piece pernambuco back

Post by simonm » Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:40 am

Lovely looking stuff. I have never had it in my hands. The pattern reminds me of some cypress sides I have had.

Jim Frieson has done a number of pernambuco classical guitars and has posted at least two with three piece backs on the decamp forum as well as at least one with a two piece back. I don't recall seeing him on here.

Try these two links.
https://www.classicalguitardelcamp.com/ ... p?t=104109
https://www.classicalguitardelcamp.com/ ... p?t=104430

I doubt that he uses maths for deciding the thickness however.

johnparchem
Blackwood

Post by johnparchem » Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:34 am

Thanks Simon, those posts were really helpful as I like the way Jim laid out the three piece back.

Trevor Gore
Blackwood

Post by Trevor Gore » Mon Oct 15, 2018 10:22 pm